Light-Matter Interaction at Nanoscale

IQF Blas Cabrera, CSIC Serrano, Madrid 23rd - 25th September 2024


Join us in Madrid for the second edition of the biennial LMI meeting, aiming to discuss recent progress and future perspectives on the captivating world of experimental and theoretical photophysics and photochemistry of low-dimensional structures. We are looking forward to bring together experts on light-matter interactions at the nanoscale investigated by scanning probe microscopies (SPM). This encompasses from the latest technical developments on advanced tip enhanced spectromicroscopies (TERS, Electro and Photoluminescence) to ultrafast (pulsed sources, THz-STM) phenomena in quantum dots or single molecules within plasmonic nanocavities. This convergence promises a stimulating environment for students, postdocs and world-renowned scientists to collectively explore the frontiers of the field!




The workshop will take place at the Instituto de Química Física Blas Cabrera (IQF), located in the historical ”Rockefeller” building in Madrid:


Serrano street 119
28006-Madrid (Spain)


Link to the map


How to reach us?

The Institute of Physical-Chemistry Blas Cabrera (IQF) is inside the campus where the central administration of CSIC is located (Serrano street 117), approximately between the Plaza de la República Argentina and María de Molina street. The nearest METRO stations are:


  • República Argentina (exit to Juan de la Cierva street)
  • Nuevos Ministerios (exit to Castellana pares, even numbers of Castellana street)
  • Gregorio Marañón (exit to Castellana impares, odd numbers of Castellana street)


The EMT buses with stops close to the Institute are lines 16, 19 and 51. From the airport (MAD), ~45 min: Take Metro line 8 (pink) to Nuevos Ministerios, change to metro line 6 (grey) to Republica Argentina and take a 7 min walk to CSIC Serrano 119 Campus


Abstract submission

Will be open from April 1st 2024 to April 30th 2024.



Will be open from June 1st 2024 to June 30th 2024.



Invited Speakers

Anna Rosławska


Emmy Noether Group Leader MPI for Solid State Research, Stuttgart, Germany


Thomas Frederiksen


Ikerbasque Professor at Donostia International Physics Center (DIPC), Donosti, Spain


Zhen-Chao Dong (董振超)


Professor at the University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei, China


Javier Aizpurua


Ikerbasque Professor at Donostia International Physics Center (DIPC) and UPV/EHU, Donostia, Spain


Takashi Kumagai


Associate professor at the Institute of Molecular Science, Aichi, Japan








Organizing committee


Pablo Merino, Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid, Spain


Martin Švec, Institute of Physics, Czech Academy of Sciences, Prague


Local organizers

Borja Cirera, Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid

Juan de la Figuera, Instituto de Química Física Blas Cabrera

Roberto Otero, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid

Alberto Martin, IMDEA Nanociencia




Funding and sponsors:

Bilateral Spanish-Czech grant BILAT23033 CSIC-CAS, CSIC-24-10 Mobility Plus.